9 replies to this topic

wildthought

wildthought

Newcomer

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • LocationToronto, ON
I figure it's okay to drop this here, since Dave has publicly backed our project. So just in case you missed it …

I'm a researcher working for a Toronto-based company called InteraXon that builds EEG-based products for the consumer market. We're a bunch of artists, engineers, scientists, and QS enthusiasts who want to build user-friendly EEG monitors for every day use and data tracking.

We're working on our first piece of EEG hardware right now, a 4 sensor headband we're calling Muse. We've just rolled out a crowdfunding campaign on Indiegogo to raise funds for the headband's production costs. Here's a pic of our prototype.

Posted Image

There are a few offerings for devs in the campaign's perks that might especially interest some folks on this forum, including early access to our prototypes and SDK w/ hardware API, as well as analytics that interface with Max/MSP. The SDK will allow access to raw brainwave data, as well as pre-processed and processed data.

At the end-user level, we're going to bundle it with an EEG-enabled brain training application, designed to help people develop mindfulness and stress-reduction practices and track their EEG data over time.

A few other technical details. The headband produces bipolar readings using AFz as the reference from AF3, AF4, TP9, TP10. The 4 electrode array enables estimation of hemispheric asymmetries (with an emphasis on the pre-frontal lobe). EEG signals are oversampled, bandpass filtered and resampled yielding to achieve a selectable output sampling rate from 100 Hz to 600Hz, with 2uV RMS noise. Active noise suppression is achieved with a DRL - REF feedback configuration using centrally positioned frontal electrodes. Input range of AC coupled signal (low cutoff at 1Hz) is 2mV p-p.
An on-board 3 -axis accelerometer enables motion input for games and quantifying head movements.